long nights

February 21, 2009 at 7:51 am | Posted in family | 1 Comment

Why is it that the babies have to wake up every two hours all night long when Daddy is out of town?    It wouldn’t be so bad if I could manage to make myself go to bed at a decent hour.   But when night finally comes I find myself loving the solitude and I’m jealous for some time to do whatever I want to do.    These days, most of my waking hours are completely packed with serving Philip and Zachery and there is no time for anything else.   No time, that is, until after 8pm.    When baby bedtime rolls around, a smart woman would wrap up the day for herself and pack in as many bread crumbs of sleep as possible.     Instead I find myself still up past midnight.   Fooling around – clinging to tiny, leftover bits of a day that’s not defined by children.

Did you ever notice how your prayer life really increases after about the 4th time of getting up in the middle of the night ?   “Oh Lord….. if you’ll just make them sleep……”   — the negotiating and pleading begins.

I finally brought Zach into the bed with me to keep him from waking Philip.   I insisted that he lie still on the pillow next to me and slowly his breathing changed and he relaxed.   Lying there next to him, I couldn’t decide if I was irritated that he’d woken me up yet again or if I was experiencing complete bliss with our temples touching and his sweet baby breath on my cheek,  steady in the dark.

The irony of having little kids later in life is that I can no longer get back to sleep as easily as I did in my 20’s!   So, here I am, at 6:30am, after only a few hours of very interrupted sleep – totally awake.    Of course, both of them are now resting peacefully.

If I were braver, I’d get a picture of the sleeping ninjas…. but you’ll just have to take my word for it that they’re pretty cute when they finally close those big brown eyes.

Maybe tonight I’ll go to bed be earlier.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Lisa! I totally sympathize with you…I remember doing the same thing
    with my late evenings when my kids were finally in bed. Yet you on
    the other hand have the double whammy of not being able to sleep in
    or get back to sleep! All I can say is enjoy the bliss of baby’s breath
    it doesn’t last long….sniff…would it help it I said sleep is over rated and nap when you can! Love you.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

