plenty of time

November 11, 2008 at 11:03 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
.

.

For a few days I’ll be at Amani, awaiting my next rounds of Kampala appointments.  Being at Amani gives me tons of discretionary time.   Time is one thing I don’t feel like I have much of in the states.   But here, nothing is in a rush.  There’s tons of time.   It’s calming at the baby cottage to listen to the gardener push the old-fashioned manual mower across the lawn, in no particular hurry.   Or to listen to the cacophony of African birds calling in the trees.   Or to take notice of the flowers all around.  There’s a giant tree here at Amani much like the pecan trees in my grandparent’s yard in the South Carolina.  Only this one has clusters of lavender flowers hanging from it.  As I sat on a rock under the tree, the blooms slowly and continually fell on the breeze like a shower of floral rain.   And there’s time to enjoy it.   I hope I can remember that when I’m back in Minnesota.   There’s really no rush.

Thursday holds another trip into town.   We’ll pick up the passports and have medical exam #1.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

