Court Day!

October 16, 2008 at 2:48 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment
Court Date

Court Date

Well, it has been a long day.  Got up at 5 AM to finish packing and head over to Amani by 6 to check on the boys for our 6:30 A.M. taxi ride to Kampala.  It was a overcast, cool morning perfect for the 2 hour travel.  The boys were perfect, Zachary went to sleep and Phillip sat on my lap, had some crackers, mostly ignored my mini-beanie baby theater (until the walrus tickled his ear…that got a brief grin), and started talking some about “motorcars” as we hit Kampala traffic.  (prayer request number one overwhelming answered)

We stood, sat, played, read and waited for 2 1/2 hours and then were called to see the judge.  The boys did great during the waiting time (God gave us the grace to endure! (prayer request number two answered).  We stood out side the judges office in a line of prospective parents to be.  One couple went in and came out some minutes later quite happy.  We were called in next (myself, the boys, the foster coordinator, and our lawyer).  After some initial formalities and introductions, the questioning of the judge began.  I was asked about when I met the boys and to furnish some required documents (neatly categorized and arranged by my amazing wife).  Then the judge asked many questions of our lawyer (the kind of questions you would want a judge to ask who was interested in the welfare of the children) and then in what seemed abrupt to me she was done, and said would issue her oral ruling later this month.  Typically, the written ruling (the document that drives the final paperwork process) is issued 7 to 14 days after the oral ruling.  I guess since we don’t have the oral ruling yet that we would say that prayer request number 3 is still outstanding.  Prayer request number 4 was answered by giving me only 1 question.

We  finished at court headed over for lunch at my favorite pizzeria where we were joined by my friend Ben, who was a great help at the Passion Kampala conference and had just returned from helping out at the Passion Seoul conference!  We then headed to get passport and visa photos made of both the boys and then the end came quickly.  I had to say good bye to them at a mall entrance and quickly leave before I lost it.  It was really hard to leave them, more so than in June.  The end is close, but we still aren’t there.  Prayer requests 5 and 6 were also answered…I heard from the foster coordinator that the boys did fine and mostly slept on the way back to Amani.

I met several parents whose legal proceedings have hit major snags, causing huge changes to their travel plans and huge changes to their costs.  I am so grateful that we have dodged that to this point.  God has been with us every step of this path in ways that we have seen and probably many ways we have not seen. Whatever happens, we will continue to cling to Him and His promise “Because He is at my right hand, I will not be shaken.”  (Ps. 16:8b NASB).

I am hoping to get on an airplane tomorrow and fly home.  Which leads me to my next prayer requests:

  • Pray that even though I am flying standby, I get a seat on both flights tomorrow and that if possible, I don’t have to wait until the last minute to find out.
  • Pray that I am able to get a bunch of sleep on the flights home (really hard for me to do more than about 20-30 minutes at a time.)
  • Pray that the boys don’t think they were abandoned by me.
  • Pray for the timing of the written ruling and the need to arrange flights ahead of time to be sure we get seats.
1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Tague and Lisa, have been thinking and praying for you today and I’m glad to see this post with the good news of your time with the boys and the short time with the judge. I can’t imagine how hard it is to say goodbye to the boys each time you are with them! God is good!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

